The Daily Post’s daily writing prompt – Fly on the wall

Today’s writing prompt is « Fly on the Wall. » If you could be a “fly on the wall” anywhere and at any time in history, where and when would you choose?

I’ve been staring at the screen for about five minutes now. A lot of places and times jump to my mind. And I keep sweeping my answers aside thinking that my answer is not historic enough, neither interesting nor intriguing. But to be completely honest, if I were given that choice right now I’m afraid I wouldn’t want to attend some great scientific breakthrough, I couldn’t care less of spying on someone, no matter how important that person might be.

I’d enjoy being able to attend a ball. In the 1850s.

That’s what it all comes down to. I’d love to see the gowns women used to wear, listen to the music that played as they danced. Movies can give you an idea of that, but I dare say I can’t imagine what it really looked like. Smelled like. Just breathing the air might feel funny.
But what I truly, really want to see are those dresses that made me dream as a girl, a teenager and still make me wonder, now that I’m a 28 years old woman.

Laisser un commentaire

